Log in

I forgot my password

Affiliates
August 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Calendar Calendar

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

Most users ever online was 27 on 2013-07-02, 10:29
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 


Rechercher Advanced Search


Random FAQ

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Random FAQ

Post  Johnny KTOU on 2010-09-15, 20:00

Here I'm gonna put some random questions that wouldn't/were'nt answered during the games for whatever reason (no time to look through the whole rulebook to find the exact answer, argument that need exterior input from other forums...) but are now clear. If you can't find it in the official FAQ, are unsure of a rule, ask on the forum or at the club and we'll collect the answers here. (Sticky please ?)


Last edited by WarBunka-Charlie on 2010-09-15, 21:17; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Made it a Sticky)
avatar
Johnny KTOU
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin

Posts : 694
EXP : 3576
Join date : 2010-07-08

Character sheet
Class: Mankini Wearer
Race: Human
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  Johnny KTOU on 2010-09-15, 20:05

Can I shoot through a close combat ?
In 4th edition we used to not be able to and it was specified. Now, only one rule (Exceptions on page 22), LOS. If you can see the unit through the figurines (can draw a line of sight), then you can shoot at it. Page 21. The unit shot gets a 4+ save for shooting through figurines.

Can I shoot down a transport with a unit and then shoot the unit that went out ?
Yes, but only with a different unit that hasn't shot yet. Page 67.
avatar
Johnny KTOU
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin

Posts : 694
EXP : 3576
Join date : 2010-07-08

Character sheet
Class: Mankini Wearer
Race: Human
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  syxx on 2010-09-15, 20:37

Well there u go so I got one wrong and so did u
avatar
syxx
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory

Posts : 1529
EXP : 4643
Join date : 2010-07-07
Age : 32

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  Johnny KTOU on 2010-09-15, 21:08

Very Happy
avatar
Johnny KTOU
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin

Posts : 694
EXP : 3576
Join date : 2010-07-08

Character sheet
Class: Mankini Wearer
Race: Human
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  syxx on 2010-09-16, 04:30

Laughing
avatar
syxx
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory

Posts : 1529
EXP : 4643
Join date : 2010-07-07
Age : 32

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  IASGATG on 2010-09-16, 22:37

Dedicated transport, what is the most I'm allowed to field?
avatar
IASGATG
LVL 3 Dragon Curry Afterburn
LVL 3 Dragon Curry Afterburn

Posts : 246
EXP : 3066
Join date : 2010-06-02
Age : 27
Location : Catville

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
1000/1000  (1000/1000)

http://www.catpictures.co/

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  Johnny KTOU on 2010-09-29, 00:54

You can buy one dedicated transport for the units that can take them, that's it. You can't buy them seperately.


Last edited by Johnny KTOU on 2010-09-29, 01:30; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Johnny KTOU
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin

Posts : 694
EXP : 3576
Join date : 2010-07-08

Character sheet
Class: Mankini Wearer
Race: Human
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  Johnny KTOU on 2010-09-29, 01:24

Ok, a few questions came up tonight; even after looking at the rulebook, we still had different opinions. Got a bit heated up, I might as well apologize here. Sorry guys.

Well here you go:

About wound allocation and multiple wounds
It's a long subject, that's better explained with examples. The confusion probably comes from 4th edition when we used to roll all saves seperately to represent guys that could survive. Now wounds are allocated before taking saves, and once allocated equally, saves are taken for each "group" of identical models. I think that the rulebook covers the possibilities, here are the pages: p26 for the multiple wounds unit and example for nobs; p25 for taking saves on units with different upgrades.

Assaulting several units
The way assaulting works, the first model within charge distance is moved in base contact, then all the other models are moved; if it happens they can move in base contact with another different unit AND still stay in coherence with the rest of the unit then the two several units are being charged. p34

Attacking independant characters in close combat
Independant character must be in base contact to be able to attack but obviously can attack the whole unit (move him before the others for any charge and pile in moves). Once in combat, he counts as a "seperate single-model unit" p49. Which means that:
1/ models in base contact with him ONLY have to attack him.
2/ models in base contact with him and with another model can chose who to attack and even split their attacks
3/ models within 2" of him ONLY have to attack him
4/ models within 2" of him and of another model can chose to who attack and even split their attacks
5/ models in base contact with a model OTHER than the character can't attack him
Diagram p41.

Disembarking/charging from a vehicule
1/ A unit in a vehicule that moves up to cruising speed, INCLUDING pivoting on the spot, can disembark within 2" but can NOT assault. Exceptions are Open topped vehicules and "assault" vehicules such as Land Raiders and the Blood Angels flying thingy.
2/ A unit from a vehicule that hasn't moved YET can disembark, and do anything (move, shoot, run, charge, die...)

Infiltrators deployment
18" away at least from a unit that can draw a line of sight, 12" away if there is no line of sight at all.

If things are still not clear, if people still disagree here, it'll be asked on the Warseer forum.
avatar
Johnny KTOU
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin

Posts : 694
EXP : 3576
Join date : 2010-07-08

Character sheet
Class: Mankini Wearer
Race: Human
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  Orc4life on 2010-09-29, 02:24

this all sounds pretty good to me just need some time to get used to it Laughing
avatar
Orc4life
LVL 1 Geek Halfling
LVL 1 Geek Halfling

Posts : 89
EXP : 2744
Join date : 2010-06-30
Age : 34
Location : bognor regis

Character sheet
Class: Whiny bitch
Race: Human/Ork/Munter
HP:
1000/1000  (1000/1000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  syxx on 2010-09-29, 13:24

for the idependant characters i have been reading and if u read it it says read the page 41 part and the space marine 1 bit space marine 1 can choose to attack the orcs or the gretchin therefore if u are in base contact with and independant and the rest of the squad and you will touch 2 or more u choose to hit the independant or the squad which is how we were playing
avatar
syxx
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory

Posts : 1529
EXP : 4643
Join date : 2010-07-07
Age : 32

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  syxx on 2010-09-29, 13:28

disembarking almost right if the vehicle has NOT moved then u may get out move fire assualt but here is the part u missed getting out counts as moving so u CAN NOT fire heavy weapons afterwords
avatar
syxx
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory

Posts : 1529
EXP : 4643
Join date : 2010-07-07
Age : 32

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  syxx on 2010-09-29, 13:33

wounds eg and this counts for multi wound ppl to, if you get 8 wounds on 5 ppl one being an independant thats 4 wounds on the norm ppl one on the 1 on the independant then one more on the 1st 3 guys then u roll in order 2 , 2 , 2, 1, 1 i have never played forth so i dont see how u came to judge we are getting confused with forth
avatar
syxx
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory

Posts : 1529
EXP : 4643
Join date : 2010-07-07
Age : 32

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  syxx on 2010-09-29, 13:38

assualting is correct except that if you fire at one unit then charge 2 useing the rules u stated you may NOT hit the other unit as u must hit the one u fired at, and also if u have an independant he can not fire at a diff unit to the one the unit he is in fired at so Independants can Not attack a diff unit ether
avatar
syxx
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory

Posts : 1529
EXP : 4643
Join date : 2010-07-07
Age : 32

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  syxx on 2010-09-29, 13:44

i am not trying to MONKEY DANCE THE PEANUT BUTTER SANDWHICH WITH A COUPLE OF BANANAS anyone off with what i have wirtten i have just looked up what you have written about and u are on the most part correct, and as for brent getting upset dont slate him russ he as i and others get told things from other gamers and we are trusting we take it as thats the rules and go with it.
avatar
syxx
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory

Posts : 1529
EXP : 4643
Join date : 2010-07-07
Age : 32

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  Johnny KTOU on 2010-09-29, 18:37

for the idependant characters i have been reading and if u read it it says read the page 41 part and the space marine 1 bit space marine 1 can choose to attack the orcs or the gretchin therefore if u are in base contact with and independant and the rest of the squad and you will touch 2 or more u choose to hit the independant or the squad which is how we were playing
Yep, that was my point 2/.

disembarking almost right if the vehicle has NOT moved then u may get out move fire assualt but here is the part u missed getting out counts as moving so u CAN NOT fire heavy weapons afterwords
Perfectly right, I was talking about assault in general (that was yesterday's discussion) but yes, I agree.

wounds eg and this counts for multi wound ppl to, if you get 8 wounds on 5 ppl one being an independant thats 4 wounds on the norm ppl one on the 1 on the independant then one more on the 1st 3 guys then u roll in order 2 , 2 , 2, 1, 1 i have never played forth so i dont see how u came to judge we are getting confused with forth
When I say people, I don't mean everyone nor you, I mean in general (that was my thought cause that's how people played it in fourth edition) Not sure how you play it when you say "roll in order 2,2,2,1,1" , but saves need to be done this way: you do NOT roll the saves seperately if the 4 people are identical models, instead, you take 7 dice (the 7 wounds on your identical models), roll them and you remove as many wounds as you have failed saves, and remove as many models as you can. Which means if you fail 3 on a unit of nobs, you lose one model and another model takes a wound. After that, you roll your save for the last wound on the different model.

assualting is correct except that if you fire at one unit then charge 2 useing the rules u stated you may NOT hit the other unit as u must hit the one u fired at, and also if u have an independant he can not fire at a diff unit to the one the unit he is in fired at so Independants can Not attack a diff unit ether
That is incorrect: it is said that you can only declare an assault against the same unit you shot at. So you have to be in distance of charge, move one model against the unit designed and then move everyone else in coherency so that as many guys are in contact. That way, if you respect these rules, it's perfectly possible to charge two units. What you can't do is shooting at a unit, and, if you kill it (or can't charge because out of range, or behind another unit., etc...), you can't charge a different unit. After that, about independant characters and everything, well the combat just works as normal, using the multiple units rule.

as i and others get told things from other gamers and we are trusting we take it as thats the rules and go with it.
Well you shouldn't. Everyone makes mistakes and gets the rules wrong. I did yesterday with the "infiltrate" rule, I did last time with the "shooting at the unit in a destroyed vehicule"... If you're not sure, don't believe what it's said, take 2 minutes to look into the rule book (will take longer, but well until we get all the rules right, maybe we should play smaller games) For the two rules above for example, I was 100% sure of myself; well, I was wrong. If someone was unsure at the time and had challenged me on this, well I would have happily looked it up and actually I would have proved me wrong. That's the way I see it. And if after reading it's still unsure, referees, roll a die, and during the time off we look it up on forums.
avatar
Johnny KTOU
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin

Posts : 694
EXP : 3576
Join date : 2010-07-08

Character sheet
Class: Mankini Wearer
Race: Human
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  syxx on 2010-09-29, 19:03

That is incorrect: it is said that you can only declare an assault against the same unit you shot at. So you have to be in distance of charge, move one model against the unit designed and then move everyone else in coherency so that as many guys are in contact. That way, if you respect these rules, it's perfectly possible to charge two units. What you can't do is shooting at a unit, and, if you kill it (or can't charge because out of range, or behind another unit., etc...), you can't charge a different unit. After that, about independant characters and everything, well the combat just works as normal, using the multiple units rule.

thats what i mean u cant shoot one unit then charge 2 i no u can be in combat with 2 u just cant attack the 2 of them if u shoot at one u have to attack the one u shoot if at all i was agreeing just adding
avatar
syxx
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory

Posts : 1529
EXP : 4643
Join date : 2010-07-07
Age : 32

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  syxx on 2010-09-29, 19:04

and i wasnt having a go at u or thinking u were having a go at me was just helping u out by looking into it the agreeing with u then adding bits
avatar
syxx
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory

Posts : 1529
EXP : 4643
Join date : 2010-07-07
Age : 32

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  Johnny KTOU on 2010-09-29, 19:33

and i wasnt having a go at u or thinking u were having a go at me was just helping u out by looking into it the agreeing with u then adding bits
I never thought you did. I only saw that you clarified the points being made, nothing wrong about that.
I guess it's hard to see the "moods" on forums isn't it Very Happy I need to use more smileys Razz .

About the rule, well we disagree. I think I CAN charge both units and attack BOTH (granted the rules to charge are respected), you believe I CAN charge both units but CAN ONLY attack the unit I shot at (this is what you said right ?)

No point arguing further, I'll look it up tonight on Warseer when I get home and I'll copy the link of the thread here.
avatar
Johnny KTOU
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin

Posts : 694
EXP : 3576
Join date : 2010-07-08

Character sheet
Class: Mankini Wearer
Race: Human
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  syxx on 2010-09-29, 19:34

aye i read it as u can charge both attack one that u shot at Very Happy
avatar
syxx
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory

Posts : 1529
EXP : 4643
Join date : 2010-07-07
Age : 32

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  Johnny KTOU on 2010-09-29, 20:07

Got it on p34 and 35 before looking it up on Warseer:
p34: "If the assaulting unit shot in the Shooting phase, then it must declare its assault against the unit it shot at, but it can ENGAGE other ennemies as described here."
p35: "Who can fight"
"Units that have one or more model in base contact with ennemies are said to be 'locked in combat'. Within such units, the following models are said to be 'engaged' and MUST FIGHT:
- Models in base contact with ANY enemy models
- Models within 2" of at least one model in their unit that is in base contact with ANY enemy models."

And then it goes to multiple combat p41:
"Models that were engaged with just one of the enemy units at the beginning of the combat (before any model attacked) must attack that unit"
"Models that were engaged with more than one enemy unit at the beginning of the combat (before.......) may split their attacks freely between those units. ...

Do we agree that I can "charge" both and attack both ? Or Warseer it is ?
avatar
Johnny KTOU
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin

Posts : 694
EXP : 3576
Join date : 2010-07-08

Character sheet
Class: Mankini Wearer
Race: Human
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  syxx on 2010-09-29, 21:24

yep u can attack both if u dont shoot
avatar
syxx
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory

Posts : 1529
EXP : 4643
Join date : 2010-07-07
Age : 32

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  Johnny KTOU on 2010-09-29, 21:33

I meant shooting included Smile I'll ask on Warseer.
avatar
Johnny KTOU
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin

Posts : 694
EXP : 3576
Join date : 2010-07-08

Character sheet
Class: Mankini Wearer
Race: Human
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  syxx on 2010-09-30, 05:08

Let me try and clear this up the 1st rnd u would have to melée the unit u fired at if u happen to after that u can attack both or one etc
avatar
syxx
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory
LVL 7 Mobile Armoured Dice Factory

Posts : 1529
EXP : 4643
Join date : 2010-07-07
Age : 32

Character sheet
Class:
Race:
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  Johnny KTOU on 2010-09-30, 05:33

That's where we disagree. It doesn't say anywhere in the rule book that you can't attack a unit after you're engaged, even if you shot at another different unit. The rule says: you can ONLY CHARGE the unit you've shot at, but what you can also do, if you can move models in contact with another unit, you can also charge them. And it doesn't say anywhere you can not attack this second unit, we just use the normal rules of multiple combat.

I've asked on Warseer, just waiting for an answer.
http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=277479
avatar
Johnny KTOU
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin
LVL 6 Augmented Cyber Goblin

Posts : 694
EXP : 3576
Join date : 2010-07-08

Character sheet
Class: Mankini Wearer
Race: Human
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  Commissar Dick on 2010-10-03, 01:49

lol sounds fun infact sounds like i win easier stephs way lol but seems a bit of a stretch of the rules tbh
avatar
Commissar Dick
LVL 2 Ogre Breath
LVL 2 Ogre Breath

Posts : 134
EXP : 2799
Join date : 2010-06-30
Age : 31
Location : Bognor Regis

Character sheet
Class: moustache
Race: handlebar
HP:
10000/10000  (10000/10000)

Back to top Go down

Re: Random FAQ

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum